Schengen: Liechtenstein takes down its borders

20 December 2011

, 20 December 2011

On 19 December, Liechtenstein became the 26th member of the Schengen area, following approval by the EU in March. "It's a great day for Liechtenstein" rejoices Volksblatt. To join the freedom of movement zone in Europe, the principality of 35,000 inhabitants between Switzerland and Austria had to comply with the European Visa Information System (VIS), the Schengen Information System (SIS) and the EURODAC system for comparing fingerprints. While Romania, Bulgaria and Cyprus are waiting for their applications to join the Schengen area to be approved, Liechtenstein is now the fourth country outside the EU to be part of it, after Norway, Iceland and Switzerland. “Following a press conference, the news was celebrated at Vaduz castle [the official residence of the Princely Family of Liechtenstein] and in the castle cellar," Volksblatt notes.